Skip navigation

Being a graduate student who does blog, I was not surprised by Carolyn Kleiner Butler's "Blogging Their Way Through Acadame". Also not surprising is the fact that many graduate students choose to blog anonymously. What I found disturbing was the deliberate exposure of anonymous bloggers by other graduate students. And these outings were no accident.

It would seem that graduate students sharing a communal blog are better protected to an extent. Fellow collaborators aren't likely to rat them out. But this does raise some interesting questions for my class next fall. Have their been any studies on undergraduate blogging? If I allow my students to blog anonymously, what if one of them is recognized and outed in the classroom? What would/could I do about it?

I'm not sure how I would handle this situation, but I think it is something I'd better consider. Would making some type of announcement at the beginning of the semester about respecting everyone's privacy be enough?

2 Comments

  1. That article really enrages me. How dare these hiring commitees stigmatize bloggers.

    You know, it seems people are taking blogging way too seriously lately. Blogging by its very nature is free-flowing and unstructured (unless the blogger chooses to make it more serious). Claiming that a professor with a fun, diary-like blog is less professional than one without a blog is ludicrious and an indication of old-fashioned thinking that equates the internet with 12-year-olds who rite lyk they r PsYcH0 LOLZ!!11!!! PWNED!!!

    Of course then there’s the other type of people who take it too seriously – people who believe blogging is a “skill” that needs one needs to be “taught” so that one knows how to do it “properly.” I find that concept a joke as well.

  2. Yes, without creativity we’ll have none of Salvo’s technorhetorical strategies, will we?


Leave a Reply

