Skip navigation

In Political Blogs: the New Iowa?,  David Perlmutter argues that bloggers aren't really written for an audience but for "a community of debaters." To a certain extent, this may be true, but I'm not convinced it's completely accurate. I asked myself if I would consider myself writing for an audience on my blog, and the answer is yes. If I weren't, why would I bother with a site test? Why would I stay focused on the same topic most of the time? These are integral issues when defining an audience, so yes, I'm writing for audience(s).

I do welcome comments and debate, but I would still write for my targeted audience without comments and/or debate. I'll be sharing the article in class, since Perlmutter attempts to define what a blog is through a serious of questions, all of which could be debatable in class.

Leave a Reply

